Wipe Out

I knew I would be exhausted with a second child. I knew keeping up with an infant and preschooler would be tough. I also knew that I was not guaranteed a good sleeper the second time, I had been incredibly spoiled with #1 son. But dear God, the level of exhaustion I and TH feel is nothing we have ever felt before. Not only does #2 son think he does not need sleep, but when he does crash he is often up at 5am (or earlier) for the day. We keep reminding #2 that his saving grace is his cuteness, or else he would be put up on Ebay (though it would probably be pulled from auction, like used underwear).

There is a reason that sleep deprivation is used as a torture method, it is awful. It causes the most cheerful couple to snap at one another and give The Look. There are many mornings I feel hungover only to remember that I had nothing with alcohol the day before. A new guy at work keeps whining how tired he is (he has a newborn) and looking to me for sympathy. Ha, wrong audience mister. TH and I keep reminding each other that this too shall pass (like when the kids go to college in 14 and 18 years respectively) but some days that thought is difficult to remember.

2 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    July 8, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    I had a dream of a first child, only to be punished with a horrible baby 22 months later. The first three years were pure torture but she’s growing out of it now that she’s 4. It does get better!

    We also told her that her cuteness was the only thing between her and the curb…

  2. Daisy said,

    July 9, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Well, yes, this will pass when they leave for college. But first, that diaper rash turns to acne and the car seats turn to drivers education — yes, the dreaded teen years!
    No, I haven’t slept much lately, either. Hope your nights improve soon!


Leave a Reply

